Colorado Landlord-Tenant Laws

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)
3-Day Notice
How to Navigate the Eviction Process
Termination for Lease Violation Notice3-Day Notice
Small Claim Court LimitColorado Small Claim Court Limit is $7,500
Handling Abandoned Property
Colo. Rev. Stat. 38-20-116
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionColo. Rev. Stat. 38-12-510
The tenant can sue for damages
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsColo. Rev. Stat. 38-12-507
Required Disclosures No statute
Non-Refundable FeesNo statute
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount not Limit; One Month to Itemize Deductions and Return Deposit or as per lease (no longer than 60 days)
Month-to-Month Notice21 Days to End or Change Month-to-Month Tenancy
Payment of RentNo statute
Property Entry
No Statute

Penalty for Self-Help Eviction

Colo. Rev. Stat. 38-12-510

It shall be unlawful for a landlord to remove or exclude a tenant from a dwelling unit without resorting to court process, unless the removal or exclusion is consistent with the provisions of article 18.5 of title 25, C.R.S., and the rules promulgated by the state board of health for the cleanup of an illegal drug laboratory or is with the mutual consent of the landlord and tenant or unless the dwelling unit has been abandoned by the tenant as evidenced by the return of keys, the substantial removal of the tenant’s personal property, notice by the tenant, or the extended absence of the tenant while rent remains unpaid, any of which would cause a reasonable person to believe the tenant had permanently surrendered possession of the dwelling unit.  Such unlawful removal or exclusion includes the willful termination of utilities or the willful removal of doors, windows, or locks to the premises other than as required for repair or maintenance.  If the landlord willfully and unlawfully removes the tenant from the premises or willfully and unlawfully causes the termination of heat, running water, hot water, electric, gas, or other essential services, the tenant may seek any remedy available under the law, including this part 5.

Landlord-Tenant State Laws