California Landlord-Tenant Laws

California Landlord-Tenant Resources

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)
3-Day Notice
Termination for Lease Violation Notice3-Day Notice
Small Claim Court LimitCalifornia Small Claim Court Limit is $10,000
Handling Abandoned Property
Cal. Civ. Code 1961, 1980 to 1991
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionActual damages plus $100 per day with $250 minimum
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsCal. Civ. Code 1942
 Green v. Superior Court
Required Disclosures Registered sexual offender database; Disclose shared utility; Ordinance locations; Toxic mold; Pest control service; Intention to demolish rent unit; No smoking policy; Notice of default; Flooding
Non-Refundable FeesNo
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: Two months rent for unfurnished units; Three months rent furnished; 21 Days to Itemize Deductions and Return Deposit
Month-to-Month NoticeTenant 30 Days Notice; Landlord 60 Days to terminate
Payment of RentLate fees should not be more than the reasonable estimate of costs that the landlord will face as a result of the late payment.
Property Entry
Notice
24- Hour; 48 Hour for Move-Out Inspection

Landlord-Tenant State Laws