Vermont Landlord-Tenant Laws

Vermont Rental Laws

Vt. Stat. Ann. Title 9: Commerce and Trade Chapter 137: Residential Rental Agreements

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)

14-Day Notice
 § 4467. Termination of tenancy; notice

Termination for Lease Violation Notice30-Days
 § 4467. Termination of tenancy; notice
Small Claim Court LimitVermont Small Claim Court Limit is $5,000
Handling Abandoned Property§ 4462. Abandonment; unclaimed property
Penalty for Self-Help Eviction   § 4463. Illegal evictions
   § 4464. Remedies for illegal evictions
Court determines penalties
Tenant Withholding Rent for Repairs  § 4458. Habitability; tenant remedies
   § 4459. Minor defects; repair and deduct
Required Disclosures No statute
Non-Refundable Fees
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: No Limit
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 14 days, 60 days for seasonal rentals
§ 4461. Security deposits
Month-to-Month NoticeTenant – One rental period or as per lease
Landlord – 30 Days
Payment of Rent
§ 4455. Tenant obligations; payment of rent
Property Entry
48 Hours
 § 4460. Access

Landlord-Tenant State Laws