West Virginia Landlord-Tenant Laws

West Virginia Rental Laws

W.Va. Code 37-6-1 to 37-6A-6

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)

Landlord can file for eviction without serving a notice
ARTICLE 3A. REMEDIES FOR WRONGFUL OCCUPATION OF RESIDENTIAL RENTAL PROPERTY.
§55-3A-1. Petition for summary relief for wrongful occupation of residential rental property.

Termination for Lease Violation NoticeLandlord can file for eviction without serving a notice
ARTICLE 3A. REMEDIES FOR WRONGFUL OCCUPATION OF RESIDENTIAL RENTAL PROPERTY.
§55-3A-1. Petition for summary relief for wrongful occupation of residential rental property.
Small Claim Court LimitWest Virginia Small Claims Court Limit is $10,000
Handling Abandoned PropertyARTICLE 3A. REMEDIES FOR WRONGFUL OCCUPATION OF RESIDENTIAL RENTAL PROPERTY.
§55-3A-3. Proceedings in court; final order; disposition of abandoned personal property.
§37-6-6. Desertion of leased property; entry; recovery of rent, disposition of abandoned personal property; notice.
Penalty for Self-Help Eviction
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsNo statute
Required Disclosures Non-Refundable Fees Disclosure
ARTICLE 6A. RESIDENTIAL RENTAL SECURITY DEPOSITS.
§37-6A-1. Definitions.
(14) “Security deposit” means any refundable deposit of money that is furnished by a tenant to a landlord to secure the performance of the terms and conditions of a rental agreement, or as security for damages to the leased premises. Security deposit does not include: (A) Rent; (B) a pet fee; or (C) application fee: Provided, That the parties expressly agree, in writing, that a pet fee or application fee is nonrefundable. A security deposit does not include prepaid rent.
Non-Refundable FeesAllowed with an agreement in writing
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: No Limit
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 60 days from the date the tenancy ends or 45 days from the occupancy of the new tenant, whichever is shorter
If the repair required the use of a contractor this deadline can be extended by 15 days.
§37-6A-2. Security deposits.
Month-to-Month NoticeOne Month
Payment of Rent
Property Entry
Notice
No statute

Landlord-Tenant State Laws


Building extensions for a leasehold