Virginia Landlord-Tenant Laws

Virginia Rental Laws

Va. Code. Ann. 55-217 to 55-248

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)

5-Day Pay or Quit Notice
14-Day Pay or Quit Notice Tenant Rights 2021 Update
Owners of more than 4 units must offer a payment plan.
§ 55.1-1245
(Effective until March 1, 2021) Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty
§ 55.1-1245
(Effective March 1, 2021, until July 1, 2021) Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty
§ 55.1-1245
(Effective July 1, 2021, until the later of July 1, 2028, or seven years after the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency expires) Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty
§ 55.1-1245
(Effective the later of July 1, 2028, or 7 years after the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency expires) Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty
Termination for Lease Violation Notice
30-Day Notice to Quit
§ 55.1-1245
(Effective until March 1, 2021) Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty
§ 55.1-1245
(Effective March 1, 2021, until July 1, 2021) Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty
§ 55.1-1245
(Effective July 1, 2021, until the later of July 1, 2028, or seven years after the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency expires) Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty
§ 55.1-1245
(Effective the later of July 1, 2028, or 7 years after the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency expires) Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty
Small Claim Court LimitVirginia Small Claim Court Limit is $5,000
Handling Abandoned Property§ 55.1-1249
Remedies for absence, nonuse, and abandonment
§ 55.1-1254
Disposal of property abandoned by tenants
§ 55.1-1256
Disposal of property of deceased tenants
Penalty for Self-Help Eviction§ 55.1-1258
Retaliatory conduct prohibited
§ 55.1-1259
Actions to enforce chapter
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsNo statute
Required Disclosures § 55.1-1214
Inspection of dwelling unit; report
§ 55.1-121
Disclosure of mold in dwelling units
§ 55.1-1216
Disclosure of sale of premises
§ 55.1-1217
Required disclosures for properties located adjacent to a military air installation; remedy for nondisclosure
§ 55.1-1218
Required disclosures for properties with defective drywall; remedy for nondisclosure
§ 55.1-1219
Required disclosures for property previously used to manufacture methamphetamine; remedy for nondisclosure
Non-Refundable Fees
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: 2 Months Rent
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 45 days
§ 55.1-1226
Security deposits

§ 55.1-1203
Application; deposit, fee, and additional information
§ 55.1-1205
Prepaid rent; maintenance of escrow account
Month-to-Month Notice30 days
Payment of Rent§ 55.1-1204
Terms and conditions of rental agreement; payment of rent; copy of rental agreement for tenant
Property Entry
Notice
24 Hours
§ 55.1-1229
Access; consent; correction of nonemergency conditions; relocation of tenant; security systems
§ 55.1-1230
Access following entry of certain court orders

Landlord-Tenant State Laws


Building extensions for a leasehold