North Carolina Rental Laws
Chapter 42, Landlord and Tenant
|Termination for Nonpayment Notice|
§ 42-3. Term forfeited for nonpayment of rent.
|Termination for Lease Violation Notice||No specified notice.|
|Small Claim Court Limit||North Carolina Small Claim Court Limit is $10,000|
|Handling Abandoned Property||§ 42-25.9. Remedies.|
§ 42-36.2. Notice to tenant of execution of writ for possession of property; storage of evicted tenant’s personal property.
|Penalty for Self-Help Eviction||Actual damages|
|Tenant Withholding Rent for Repairs||No statute|
|Required Disclosures||§ 42-46. Authorized late fees and eviction fees.|
Disclosure and the name and address of the bank where the security deposit is held.
|Non-Refundable Fees||Reasonable non-refundable pet deposit allowed|
|Security Deposit Rules||Security Deposit Amount: up to 1.5 months for month-to-month lease; up to 2 months if the agreement is over 2 months|
Separate account required
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 30 Days
If the claim against the deposit cannot be determined within 30 days, the landlord will provide interim accounting within 30 days and final accounting within 60 days.
§ 42-50 to § 42-56
|Month-to-Month Notice||7 Days|
|Payment of Rent||§ 42-46. Authorized late fees and eviction fees.|