Oklahoma Landlord-Tenant Laws

Oklahoma Rental Laws

Oklahoma Residential Landlord and Tenant Act

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)
5-Day Notice
§ 131. Delinquent Rent.
Termination for Lease Violation Notice
15-Day Notice ( 10 Days to Cure, plus 5 Days to Terminate)
§ 132. Tenant’s Failure to Comply with Rental Agreement or Perform Duties – Rights and Duties of Landlord.
Small Claim Court LimitOklahoma Small Claim Court Limit is $10,000
Handling Abandoned Property§ 130. Abandonment or Surrendering Possession of Dwelling Unit – Disposition of Personal Property.
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionTwice the actual damages or the average monthly rent, whichever is greater
Tenant Withholding Rent for Repairs§ 121. Landlord’s Breach of Rental Agreement – Deductions from Rent for Repairs – Failure to Supply Heat, Water or Other Essential Services – Habitability of Dwelling Unit.
Required Disclosures Flooding Disclosure
§ 113a. Flooding within Past 5 Years to be Disclosed in Written Rental Agreements – Failure to Disclose – Terms Defined.
Owner Information
§ 116. Person to Accept Service or Notice – Identity of Owner and Manager – Failure to Comply with Section.
Non-Refundable Fees
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: No Limit
Escrow account required
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 45 days
§ 115. Damage or Security Deposits.
Month-to-Month Notice30 Days
Payment of Rent§ 109. Rent.
Late fees – SUN RIDGE INVESTORS v. PARKER
Property Entry
Notice
One Day

Landlord-Tenant State Laws


Building extensions for a leasehold