Rhode Island Landlord-Tenant Laws

Rhode Island Rental Laws

Title 34, Chapter 18, Residential Landlord and Tenant Act

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)

5-Day Notice
Rent must be 15 Days late before the notice can be served.
§ 34-18-35. Eviction for nonpayment of rent.
Termination for Lease Violation Notice20 Days
§ 34-18-36. Eviction for noncompliance with rental agreement.
Small Claim Court LimitRhode Island Small Claim Court Limit is $2,500
Handling Abandoned Property§ 34-18-50. Payment of moving costs required.
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionThree times rent or three times the actual damage, whichever is greater
Tenant Withholding Rent for Repairs§ 34-18-30. Self-help for limited repairs.
§ 34-18-31. Wrongful failure to supply heat, water, hot water, or essential services.
§ 34-18-32. Landlord’s noncompliance as defense to action for possession or rent.
Required Disclosures Owner or Agent Disclosure
Foreclosure Disclosure
§ 34-18-20. Disclosure.
Code Violations Disclosure
§ 34-18-22.1. Landlord’s duty to notify tenant of violation.
Non-Refundable Fees
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: One Month
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 20 days
§ 34-18-19. Security deposits.
Month-to-Month Notice30 days
Payment of Rent§ 34-18-15. Terms and conditions of rental agreement.
Grace Period
§ 34-18-35. Eviction for nonpayment of rent.
Property Entry
Two Days

Landlord-Tenant State Laws