Missouri Landlord-Tenant Laws

Missouri Rental Laws

Mo.Rev.Stat. 441.005 to 441.880 and 535.010 to 535.300

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)

Landlord can terminate with an unconditional quit notice
Mo.Rev.Stat. 535.010
Termination for Lease Violation NoticeNo statute
Landlord can terminate with an unconditional quit notice
Small Claim Court LimitMissouri Small Claim Court Limit is $5,000
Handling Abandoned PropertyMo.Rev.Stat. 441.065
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionDamages are determined by the Court
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsMo.Rev.Stat. 441.234
Required Disclosures Meth Lab Disclosure – Mo.Rev.Stat. 441.236
Owner or Agent Disclosure – Mo.Rev.Stat. 535-185
Non-Refundable Fees
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: up to 2 months
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 30 days
Mo.Rev.Stat. 535-300
Month-to-Month NoticeOne month
Payment of RentMo.Rev.Stat. 535-060
Property Entry
Notice
No statute

Landlord-Tenant State Laws