New York Landlord-Tenant Laws

New York Rental Laws

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)
1. Before serving the 10 days Notice to Remedy or Quit, the Landlord must make a demand for payment. This can be either oral or written. The written notice must give tenants three days before starting eviction. The notice must be served according to RPAPL 735
2. 10-Day Notice to Quit
Real Property Actions & Proceedings (RPA) Section 713
Termination for Lease Violation Notice10-Day Notice to Cure
Small Claim Court LimitNew York City Small Claims Court Limit is $3,000 to $5,000
Handling Abandoned Property
No statute
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionThree times the actual damage
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsEmergency repairs only
Section 235-B Warranty of habitability
JANGLA REALTY v. GRAVAGNA | 112 Misc.2d 642 | N.Y.
Required Disclosures Tenant Notification of Indoor Air Contamination Associated With Soil Vapor Intrusion
Non-Refundable FeesNon-refundable security deposit is not allowed
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: No limit for unregulated rentals
Security Deposit must not be commingled with any personal money of the landlord. Buildings with over 6 units require the deposits to be held in an interest-bearing NY Bank account.
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: “reasonable time” interpreted by courts to be 21-45 days
NY GOL §§ 7-103 to 7-108
Month-to-Month NoticeOne month
Payment of Rent
Property Entry
Notice
No statute
Building extensions for a leasehold

Landlord-Tenant State Laws