Tennessee Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tennessee Rental Laws

Tenn. Code Ann.§66-28-101 to 66-28-521

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)

14-Day Notice
Tenn. Code Ann. §66-7-109 and Tenn. Code Ann. §66-28-505.
Termination for Lease Violation Notice30-Day Notice
Tenn. Code Ann. §66-7-109 and Tenn. Code Ann. §66-28-505.
Small Claim Court LimitTennessee Small Claim Court Limit is $25,000
Handling Abandoned Property1. Extended absence and nonpayment of rent for 30 days allow the landlord to take possession of the rentals.
2. If the tenants have not paid rent for 14 days and the landlord believes that the rental has been abandoned, the landlord must post a Notice with the intention to reenter the property in 10 Days if not contacted.
3. The landlord can dispose of the tenant’s property in 30 days.

§66-28-405
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionActual and punitive damages
Tenant Withholding Rent for Repairs66-28-502 – Failure to supply essential services.
Required Disclosures Owner or Agent Identity
66-28-302 – Address of landlord or agent.
Showing the property during the last 30 Days of the tenancy with 24-hour notice
66-28-403 – Access by landlord.
Non-Refundable FeesNo statute
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: No Limit

An escrow account required. The landlord must disclose the location of the financial institution where the deposit is held.
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 30 days
Landlord must inspect the premises within 10 days of tenant’s move out and compile a list with damages and estimated cost to repair. Tenant has the right to verify the accuracy of the list.
Tenn. Code Ann. §66-28-301
Month-to-Month Notice30 days
Payment of Rent66-28-201 – Terms and conditions.
Property Entry
Notice
24 Hours

Landlord-Tenant State Laws


Building extensions for a leasehold