South Carolina Landlord-Tenant Laws

South Carolina Rental Laws

 South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 27, Property and Conveyances, Chapter 40, Residential Landlord and Tenant Act

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)

5-Day Notice if there is no written lease or rent agreement or if there is no disclosure in the lease that the landlord can file for eviction if the rent is 5 days late

SECTION 27-40-710. Noncompliance with rental agreement; failure to pay rent; removal of evicted tenant’s personal property.
Termination for Lease Violation Notice14-Days
SECTION 27-40-710. Noncompliance with rental agreement; failure to pay rent; removal of evicted tenant’s personal property.
Small Claim Court LimitSouth Carolina Small Claim Court Limit is $7,500
Handling Abandoned PropertySECTION 27-40-730. Remedies for absence, nonuse, and abandonment.
SECTION 27-40-710.
 Noncompliance with rental agreement; failure to pay rent; removal of evicted tenant’s personal property.
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionThree times rent or twice the actual damages, whichever is greater
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsSECTION 27-40-630. Wrongful failure to provide essential services.
SECTION 27-40-640. Landlord’s noncompliance as defense to action for possession or rent.
Required Disclosures Owner or Agent Identity
SECTION 27-40-420. Disclosure.
Disclosure for different security deposit requirements
SECTION 27-40-410. Security deposits; prepaid rent.
Non-Refundable Fees
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: No Limit
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 30 days
SECTION 27-40-410. Security deposits; prepaid rent.
Month-to-Month Notice30 days
Payment of Rent
SECTION 27-40-310. Terms and conditions of rental agreement.
Property Entry
Notice
24 Hours

Landlord-Tenant State Laws