Utah Landlord-Tenant Laws

Utah Rental Laws

Utah Code. Ann. 57-17-1 to 57-17-5 and Utah Code. Ann. 57-22-1 to 57-22-7

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)

3-Day Notice
78B-6-802.  Unlawful detainer by tenant for a term less than life.
Termination for Lease Violation Notice3-Day
78B-6-802.  Unlawful detainer by tenant for a term less than life.
Small Claim Court LimitUtah Small Claim Court Limit is $11,000
Handling Abandoned PropertySection 815
Abandonment.
Section 816
Abandoned premises — Retaking and rerenting by owner — Liability of tenant — Personal property of tenant left on premises.
Penalty for Self-Help EvictionCourt determines penalty
Section 814
Exclusion of tenant without judicial process prohibited — Abandoned premises excepted.
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsSection 6
Renter remedies for deficient condition of residential rental unit.
Required Disclosures
Non-Refundable Deposit must be disclosed in writing before the deposit is received
Move-In Checklist Required Section 4 Owner’s duties.
Availability of Rental Unit and Applicant Selection Criteria Disclosure Section 4 Owner’s duties.
Non-Refundable FeesAllowed with disclosure.
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: No Limit
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 30 days
Section 1
Return or explanation of retainage upon termination of tenancy.
Section 2
Non-refundable deposit — Written notice required.
Section 3
Deductions from deposit — Written itemization — Time for return.
Section 4
Holder of owner’s or designated agent’s interest bound by provisions.
Section 5
Failure to return deposit or prepaid rent or to give required notice — Recovery of deposit, penalty, costs, and attorney fees.
Month-to-Month Notice15 days Notice by Landlord
Section 802
Unlawful detainer by tenant for a term less than life.
Payment of Rent
Property Entry
Notice
24 Hours or as per lease

Landlord-Tenant State Laws


Building extensions for a leasehold