Ohio Rental Laws
Ohio Revised Codes (ORC), Title 53, Chapter 5321, Landlords and Tenants
|Termination for Nonpayment Notice|
Unconditional Quit Notice
|Termination for Lease Violation Notice||3-Day Notice|
|Small Claim Court Limit||Ohio Small Claim Court Limit is $6,000|
|Handling Abandoned Property||Ringler v. Sias, 428 N.E.2d 869 (Ohio Ct. App. 1980)|
|Penalty for Self-Help Eviction||Actual damages|
|Tenant Withholding Rent for Repairs||5321.07 Failure of landlord to fulfill obligations – remedies of tenant.|
|Required Disclosures||Owner or Agent Identity |
5321.18 Written rental agreement for residential premises provisions.
|Security Deposit Rules||Security Deposit Amount: No Limit|
Interest of 5% must be paid on any deposit over $50 or one month’s rent, whichever is greater.
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 30 days
5321.16 Procedures for security deposits.
|Month-to-Month Notice||30 days|
|Payment of Rent|