Michigan Rental Laws
|Termination for Nonpayment Notice|
(2) If a tenant neglects or refuses to pay rent on a lease at will or otherwise, the landlord may terminate the tenancy by giving the tenant a written 7-day notice to quit.
Mich. Comp. Laws 554-134
|Termination for Lease Violation Notice||7-Day Notice; |
(d) When the person in possession willfully or negligently causes a serious and continuing health hazard to exist on the premises, or causes extensive and continuing physical injury to the premises.
Mich. Comp. Laws 600-5714
|Small Claim Court Limit||Michigan Small Claim Court Limit is $6,500|
|Handling Abandoned Property|
|Penalty for Self-Help Eviction||$200 or up to three times actual damages (whichever is greater)|
|Tenant Withholding Rent for Repairs||(4) Rents due for the period during which rent is suspended shall be paid into an escrow account established by the enforcing officer or agency, to be paid thereafter to the landlord or any other party authorized to make repairs, to defray the cost of correcting the violations. The enforcing agency shall return any unexpended part of sums paid under this section, attributable to the unexpired portion of the rental period, where the occupant terminates his tenancy or right to occupy prior to the undertaking to repair.|
Mich. Comp. Laws 125.530
|Required Disclosures||Move-In Checklist Required Mich.Comp.Laws 554.608|
Owner or Agent Identity Mich.Comp.Laws 554.634
Truth in Renting Act Mich.Comp.Laws 554.634
“NOTICE: Michigan law establishes rights and obligations for parties to rental agreements. This agreement is required to comply with the Truth in Renting Act. If you have a question about the interpretation or legality of a provision of this agreement, you may want to seek assistance from a lawyer or other qualified person.”
Rights of Domestic Violence Victims Mich.Comp.Laws 554.601b
“A tenant who has a reasonable apprehension of present danger to him or her or his or her child from domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking may have special statutory rights to seek a release of rental obligation under MCL 554.601b.”
Tenant Forwarding Address Mich. Comp. Laws 554.603
“You must notify your landlord in writing within 4 days after you move of a forwarding address where you can be reached and where you will receive mail; otherwise your landlord shall be relieved of sending you an itemized list of damages and the penalties adherent to that failure.”
|Security Deposit Rules||Security Deposit Amount: up to 1.5 months ; |
Tenant has to provide forwarding address within 4 days after moving;
Landlord must disclose the name and address of the financial institution where the deposit is held within 14 days of tenant taking possession;
Separate escrow account required;
Advanced notice of deduction required, the tenant has 7 days to dispute any deductions;
Deadline landlord to itemize and return deposit: 30 Days
554.602 Security deposit; amount.
554.603 Security deposit; notice.
554.604 Security deposit, disposition; bond.
554.605 Security deposit as property of tenant.
554.606 Waiving requirements of act.
554.607 Security deposit; permissible uses.
554.608 Inventory checklists.
554.609 Itemized list of damages; check or money order; contents of notice of damages.
554.610 Effect of noncompliance with notice of damages requirement.
554.611 Notice of forwarding address; effect of noncompliance.
554.612 Response to notice of damages.
554.613 Action for damages; retention of security deposit; waiver.
554.614 Termination of landlord’s interest; liability for security deposit.
554.615 Action to enforce act.
554.616 Effective date and applicability of act.
|Month-to-Month Notice||One month|
|Payment of Rent||Hilsendegen v. Scheich|