Montana Landlord-Tenant Laws

Montana Rental Laws

Mont.Code Ann. 70-24-101 to 70-27-117

Termination for Nonpayment Notice
(Eviction Notice)
3-Day Notice
Mont.Code Ann. 70-24-422
Termination for Lease Violation Notice14-Day Notice;
3-Day Notice (For unauthorized pets or people)
Mont.Code Ann. 70-24-422
Small Claim Court LimitMontana Small Claim Court Limit is $7,000
Handling Abandoned PropertyMont.Code Ann. 70-24-430

Penalty for Self-Help EvictionThree months rent or three times the actual damages (whichever is greater)
Tenant Withholding Rent for RepairsFailure Of Landlord To Maintain Premises — Tenant’s Remedies Mont.Code Ann. 70-24-406
Damages for minor violations by landlord Mont.Code Ann. 70-24-407
Purposeful Or Negligent Failure To Provide Essential Services — Tenant’s Remedies Mont.Code Ann. 70-24-408

Required Disclosures Owner or Agent Identity
Move-In Checklist Required
Non-Refundable FeesNo, fees for cleaning, damages are considered part of the security deposit.
Security Deposit RulesSecurity Deposit Amount: no limit ;
Advanced notice of deduction required
Deadline to itemize and return of security deposit: 30 days; 10 Days if there are no deductions

70-25-201 Security deposit — deductions authorized therefrom
70-25-202 List of damages and refund — delivery to departing tenant
70-25-203 Failure to provide list — forfeiture of deduction rights
70-25-204 Wrongful withholding of security deposit — action
70-25-205 Failure of departing tenant to furnish new address
70-25-206 Landlord to furnish statement of condition of premises at beginning of lease
Month-to-Month Notice30 Days
Payment of RentMont.Code Ann. 70-24-201
Property Entry
24 Hours

Landlord-Tenant State Laws